Cadfael Books in Order, by Ellis Peters

Written by Ellis Peters (1913 – 1995), the Brother Cadfael series is a classic historical mystery series set in the 12th century.

Now a Benedictine monk at the Shrewsbury Abbey in England, Brother Cadfael was a former soldier and worldly man who turned to the monastic life and now uses his keen intellect and knowledge of herbs to solve a variety of crimes that occur in and around the abbey.

Here is the Brother Cadfael Series in Order

A Rare Benedictine (1988)*
A Morbid Taste for Bones (1977)
One Corpse Too Many (1980)
Monk’s Hood (1980)
St. Peter’s Fair (1981)
The Leper of Saint Giles (1981)
The Virgin in the Ice (1982)
The Sanctuary Sparrow (1983)
The Devil’s Novice (1983)
Dead Man’s Ransom (1984)
The Pilgrim of Hate (1984)
An Excellent Mystery (1985)
The Raven in the Foregate (1986)
The Rose Rent (1986)
The Hermit of Eyton Forest (1987)
The Confession of Brother Haluin (1988)
The Heretic’s Apprentice (1989)
The Potter’s Field (1989)
The Summer of the Danes (1991)
The Holy Thief (1992)
Brother Cadfael’s Penance (1994)

*A prequel book with three tales full of intrigues telling what led Cadfael into the Benedictine Order.

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)