Detective Varg Series in Order, by Alexander McCall Smith

The adventures of Detective Ulf Varg, a quirky and eccentric Swedish police detective based in the fictional city of Malmo.

When some criminal cases turn out to be especially strange and difficult, Varg is the detective sent to investigate with the members of an elite squad known as the Sensitive Crimes Division.

The novels written by Alexander McCall Smith (No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency) combine elements of traditional crime fiction with wit and humor, exploring Varg’s investigations and his interactions with quirky characters.

The stories often delve into the idiosyncrasies of Swedish society and culture, offering a lighthearted and entertaining take on the detective genre.

Here are the Detective Varg Books in Order

Varg in Love” (2012)
The Strange Case of the Moderate Extremists” (2019)
The Department of Sensitive Crimes (2019)
The Talented Mr. Varg (2020)
The Man with the Silver Saab (2021)
The Discreet Charm of the Big Bad Wolf (2023)

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)