Dirk Gently Books in Order, by Douglas Adams

Written by Douglas Adams (1952 – 2001), author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, The Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency book series follows the adventures of the eccentric and unconventional detective Dirk Gently.

The story begins with Richard MacDuff, a young computer programmer, finding himself entangled in a bizarre series of events. His boss is murdered, and he becomes connected to Dirk Gently, a holistic detective who believes in the fundamental interconnectedness of all things.

As the story unfolds, the characters navigate time travel, ghosts, and a complex web of seemingly unrelated events.

Here is the Dirk Gently Series in Order

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency (1987)
The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul (1988)
The Salmon of Doubt (2002)*
Dirk Gently’s Big Holistic Graphic Novel (2016)**

*This third book is an unfinished novel, a posthumous publication that includes short stories, essays, and interviews by Adams–who died in 2001.
**This book collects new Dirk Gently stories not written by Douglas Adams that are connected with the short-lived American TV adaptation.

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)