Discworld Books in Order, by Terry Pratchett

A satirical and comedic fantasy written by Terry Pratchett (1948 – 2015), Discworld is composed of numerous novels, each exploring different aspects of the Discworld and featuring a diverse cast of characters–including wizards, witches, guardsmen, and anthropomorphic personifications like Death.

All those stories are set in the Discworld, a flat, disc-shaped world supported by four giant elephants that stand on the back of Great A’Tuin, a massive turtle.

The stories weave together social satire, parody, and humor as characters navigate the eccentricities of the Discworld and confront various challenges, ranging from political intrigue to cosmic events.

While each novel is relatively self-contained, recurring characters and locations provide continuity throughout the series.

Here is the Discworld Series in Order

Most of the books focus on one or more recurring characters. Before separating the novels into different sub-series, let’s take a look at the Discworld in publication order:

The Color of Magic (1983)
The Light Fantastic
Equal Rites
Wyrd Sisters
Guards! Guards!
Moving Pictures
Reaper Man
Witches Abroad
Small Gods
Lords and Ladies
Men at Arms
Soul Music
Interesting Times
Feet of Clay
The Last Continent
Carpe Jugulum
The Fifth Elephant
The Truth
Thief of Time
The Last Hero
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
Night Watch
The Wee Free Men
Monstrous Regiment
A Hat Full of Sky
Going Postal
Making Money
Unseen Academicals
I Shall Wear Midnight
Raising Steam
The Shepherd’s Crown

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)

Here are The Discworld Books in Order By characters

The Wizard Rincewind Books

The Color of Magic (1983)
The Light Fantastic (1986)
Sourcery (1988)
Eric (1990)
Interesting Times (1995)
The Last Continent (1998)
The Last Hero (2001)

The Death Books

Mort (1987)
Reaper Man (1991)
Soul Music (1994)
Hogfather (1996)
Thief of Time (2001)

The Witches Books

Equal Rites (1987)
Wyrd Sisters (1988)
Witches Abroad (1991)
Lords and Ladies (1992)
Maskerade (1995)
Carpe Jugulum (1998)

The Tiffany Aching Books

The Wee Free Men (2003)
A Hat Full of Sky (2004)
Wintersmith (2006)
I Shall Wear Midnight (2010)
The Shepherd’s Crown (2015)

The Ankh-Morpork City Watch Books

Guards! Guards! (1989)
Men at Arms (1993)
Feet of Clay (1996)
Jingo (1997)
The Fifth Elephant (1999)
Night Watch (2002)
Thud! (2005)
Snuff (2011)

The Moist von Lipwig Books

Going Postal (2004)
Making Money (2007)
Raising Steam (2013)