Hap and Leonard Books in Order, by Joe R. Lansdale

Written by Joe R. Lansdale, this series mixes crime, humor, and Southern noir elements and follows the adventures of two best friends, Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, as they navigate through various crime-related situations in the fictional town of LaBorde, Texas.

Hap is a white, liberal, and often laid-back individual, while Leonard is a black, gay, Vietnam War veteran with a no-nonsense attitude and a love for martial arts.

The plots typically involve the duo getting entangled in criminal activities, mysteries, and dangerous situations, often with a humorous and unconventional approach to problem-solving.

Here is the Hap and Leonard Series in Order

Savage Season (1990)
Mucho Mojo (1994)
The Two-Bear Mambo (1995)
Bad Chili (1997)
Rumble Tumble (1998)
Veil’s Visit (1999)
Captains Outrageous (2001)
Vanilla Ride (2009)
Devil Red (2011)
Hyenas” (2011)
Dead Aim” (2013)
Honky Tonk Samurai (2016)
Briar Patch Boogie” (2016)
Coco Butternut” (2017)
Rusty Puppy (2017)
Cold Cotton” (2017)
Hoodoo Harry” (2017)
Jackrabbit Smile (2018)
Sad Onions” (2022)
The Elephant of Surprise (2019)
Sugar on the Bones (2024)

Prequel Stories
Hap and Leonard: Blood and Lemonade (2017)
Of Mice and Minestrone (2020)

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)