Incarnations of Immortality Books in Order, by Piers Anthony

A fantasy series written by Piers Anthony, The Incarnations of Immortality explores the concept of mortal individuals assuming the roles of cosmic personifications, known as Incarnations.

Each book focuses on a different Incarnation, exploring their struggles and responsibilities in maintaining the balance between good and evil in the world.

Everything begins with the story of Zane, a man who accidentally becomes the incarnation of Death. He must learn to carry out his duties, navigating the challenges of his new role and the ethical dilemmas that come with it.

The subsequent books introduce other Incarnations, including Time, Fate, War, Nature, and Night.

Here is the Incarnations of Immortality Series in Order

On a Pale Horse (1983)
Bearing an Hourglass (1984)
With a Tangled Skein (1985)
Wielding a Red Sword (1986)
Being a Green Mother (1987)
For Love of Evil (1988)
And Eternity (1990)
Under a Velvet Cloak (2007)

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)