Inspector Alleyn Books in Order, by Ngaio Marsh

Set in England, this classic mystery series written by Ngaio Marsh (1895 – 1982) follows Detective Roderick Alleyn of Scotland Yard as he uses his keen intellect and investigative skills to uncover the truth behind the crimes (mostly murders), identify the perpetrators, and bring them to justice while navigating the challenges of being a detective in the British police force.

Here is the Inspector Alleyn Series in Order

A Man Lay Dead (1934)
Enter a Murderer (1935)
The Nursing Home Murder (1935)
Death in Ecstasy (1936)
Vintage Murder (1937)
Artists in Crime (1938)
Death in a White Tie (1938)
Overture to Death (1939)
Death at the Bar (1940)
Surfeit of Lampreys (1940)
Death and the Dancing Footman (1941)
Colour Scheme (1943)
Died in the Wool (1944)
Final Curtain (1947)
Swing, Brother, Swing (1949)
Night at the Vulcan (1951)
Spinsters in Jeopardy (1953)
Scales of Justice (1955)
Death of a Fool (1956)
Singing in the Shrouds (1958)
False Scent (1959)
Hand in Glove (1962)
Dead Water (1963)
Killer Dolphin (1966)
Clutch of Constables (1968)
When in Rome (1968)
Tied Up in Tinsel (1972)
Black As He’s Painted (1974)
Last Ditch (1976)
A Grave Mistake (1978)
Photo Finish (1980)
Light Thickens (1982)
Money in the Morgue (2018)*

*This unfinished novel was completed by author Stella Duffy.

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)