Leaphorn And Chee Books in Order, by Tony Hillerman

Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee are two Navajo Tribal Police officers who solve crimes and mysteries on the Navajo Reservation in the American Southwest.

The series written by Tony Hillerman (1925 – 2008) is set against the backdrop of the unique landscape and cultural traditions of the Navajo Nation.

Each novel typically features a specific crime or mystery that Leaphorn and Chee must solve, ranging from thefts and murders to more complex cases involving traditional Navajo beliefs and customs.

After her father’s death, Anne Hillerman took over the series and made Navajo Nation Police Officer Bernadette Manuelito one of the main characters.

Here is the Leaphorn And Chee Series in Order

Joe Leaphorn And Jim Chee by Tony Hillerman

The Blessing Way (1970)
Dance Hall of the Dead (1973)
Listening Woman (1978)
People of Darkness (1980)
The Dark Wind (1982)
The Ghostway (1985)
Skinwalkers (1986)
A Thief of Time (1988)
Talking God (1989)
Coyote Waits (1990)
Sacred Clowns (1993)
The Fallen Man (1996)
The First Eagle (1998)
Hunting Badger (1999)
The Wailing Wind (2002)
The Sinister Pig (2003)
Skeleton Man (2004)
The Shape Shifter (2006)

Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito by Anne Hillerman

Spider Woman’s Daughter (2013)
Rock with Wings (2015)
Song of the Lion (2017)
Cave of Bones (2018)
The Tale Teller (2019)
Stargazer (2021)
The Sacred Bridge (2022)
The Way of the Bear (2023)
Lost Birds (2024)

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)