Lew Archer Books in Order, by Ross MacDonald

Lew Archer is a private detective who investigates missing persons, crimes, and family secrets.

As he unravels the layers of deception and explores the darker aspects of human nature, Archer becomes entangled in the complex lives and histories of those he encounters, ranging from the wealthy elite to those on the fringes of society.

Written by Ross Macdonald (the pen name of Kenneth Millar), the series as a whole reflects the evolving social and cultural landscape of California over several decades.

Here is the Lew Archer Series in Order

The Moving Target (1949)
The Drowning Pool (1950)
The Way Some People Die (1951)
The Ivory Grin (1952)
Find a Victim (1954)
The Barbarous Coast (1956)
The Doomsters (1958)
The Galton Case (1959)
The Wycherly Woman (1961)
The Zebra-Striped Hearse (1962)
The Chill (1964)
The Far Side of the Dollar (1965)
Black Money (1966)
The Instant Enemy (1968)
The Goodbye Look (1969)
The Underground Man (1971)
Sleeping Beauty (1973)
The Blue Hammer (1976)

Ross MacDonald also wrote short stories that are now collected in the book The Archer Files (2015).

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)