Resident Evil Movies in Order

Developed by Paul W. S. Anderson, The Resident Evil film series is a science fiction action-horror franchise based on the eponymous video game series created by Shinji Mikami and Tokuro Fujiwara.

The first film introduces Alice (played by Milla Jovovich), an amnesiac who wakes up in a mansion owned by the Umbrella Corporation. She has to team up with a group of commandos sent to investigate the Hive, an underground research facility where a viral outbreak has occurred, turning the staff into zombies.

The following movies deal first with Raccoon City, which is now overrun by zombies following the release of the T-virus, then the World, as Alice is on a quest to destroy the Umbrella Corporation and find survivors.

Here are the Resident Evil Films in Order

Resident Evil (2002)
Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004)
Resident Evil: Extinction (2007)
Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010)
Resident Evil: Retribution (2012)
Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016)

Buy the Blu-rays on Amazon

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)

The Resident Evil Reboots

Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City (2021)

Written and directed by Johannes Roberts, this reboot script is adapted from the stories of the first and second games. It doesn’t feature Alice.

Resident Evil (2022)

This is an American action horror television series developed by Andrew Dabb for Netflix. It was canceled after one season. There is also Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness (2021), a Japanese horror-action CGI original net animation miniseries.