The Exorcist Movies in Order

The “Exorcist” film series is a horror franchise centered around demonic possession and exorcism.

The series is primarily known for its iconic and influential first installment directed by William Friedkin and based on the novel by William Peter Blatty. “The Exorcist” follows the story of Regan MacNeil (Linda Blair), a young girl who becomes possessed by a demonic entity. Regan’s mother, Chris MacNeil (Ellen Burstyn), seeks the help of two priests, Father Damien Karras (Jason Miller) and Father Merrin (Max von Sydow), to perform an exorcism and free Regan from the demonic presence.

While the first “Exorcist” film is considered a classic and has had a significant impact on the horror genre, the subsequent installments received mixed reviews.

The sequels and prequels explore different aspects of the demonic mythology introduced in the original film.

Here are The Exorcist Films in Order

The Original The Exorcist Trilogy

The Exorcist (1973)
Exorcist II: The Heretic (1977)
The Exorcist III (1990)

The Exorcist Prequel Movies

Exorcist: The Beginning (2004)
Dominion: Prequel to the Exorcist (2005)

The Exorcist Requels

The Exorcist: Believer (2023)
The Exorcist: Deceiver (2025)

There’s also a spin-off TV Show simply titled “The Exorcist” (2016–2017) that heavily referenced the event that took place in the first movie.

Buy the Blu-rays on Amazon

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)