The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Books in Order, by Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is a beloved classic science-fiction comedy book series written by Douglas Adams (1952 – 2001), author of Dirk Gently.

The story begins with an unwitting human named Arthur Dent discovering that his house is about to be demolished to make way for a bypass. However, his problems escalate when he learns that Earth is also slated for destruction by a bureaucratic alien race called the Vogons to make room for a hyperspace bypass.

Arthur is rescued just before Earth’s destruction by Ford Prefect, a friend who turns out to be an alien researcher for the titular “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” a sort of electronic guidebook for intergalactic hitchhikers.

Ford takes Arthur on a journey through space, introducing him to a quirky assortment of characters, including Zaphod Beeblebrox (a two-headed ex-President of the Galaxy), Trillian (the only other human survivor of Earth’s destruction), and Marvin (a perpetually depressed robot).

The series continues with the group’s adventures as they travel through space, encountering bizarre civilizations, facing improbable challenges, and stumbling into comedic situations.

Here is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series in Order

The Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy (1978)
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (1980)
Life, the Universe and Everything (1982)
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (1984)
Mostly Harmless (1992)
And Another Thing… (2009)*

*As Douglas Adams died in 2001, the sixth installment in the series is written by Eoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl series.

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)