The Mummy Movies in Order

There are multiple series of Mummy Movies. Everything started in 1932 with the Universal Classic Monsters Mummy movies. This was a series of horror films that focused on the ancient Egyptian mummy Imhotep (played by Boris Karloff in the first installment) and his supernatural powers.

In 1999, a revival of the classic franchise was launched with director Stephen Sommers at the helm and focused on adventurer Rick O’Connell (played by Brendan Fraser) and Egyptologist Evelyn “Evy” Carnahan (played by Rachel Weisz).

Set in 1926, the story follows Rick, Evy, and a group of treasure hunters as they unwittingly awaken Imhotep (played by Arnold Vosloo), a cursed high priest mummy. Imhotep seeks to resurrect his lost love, Princess Anck-su-Namun, who he believes has been reincarnated as Evy.

Those films feature a blend of action, humor, and horror elements, setting a tone different from the original Universal Classic Monsters films.

They led to the launch of a spin-off series focusing on the character of Mathayus (Dwayne Johnson in the first film), known as the Scorpion King, who was introduced as a villain in “The Mummy Returns.” Mathayus is a warrior from the ancient Akkadian Empire who seeks revenge against the tyrant Memnon, who murdered his brother and conquered his people. The several direct-to-video sequels and prequels expanded the mythology of the Mummy universe.

There is also The Mummy: The Animated Series that follows the O’Connells, Rick, Evy, and their son, as they embark on various archaeological expeditions around the world. It was aimed at a young audience.

Finally, in 2017, Universal Pictures introduced its failed Dark Universe franchise with a new Mummy movie directed by Alex Kurtzman. The story follows soldier Nick Morton (played by Tom Cruise) and archaeologist Jenny Halsey (played by Annabelle Wallis) as they accidentally unearth the tomb of Ahmanet (played by Sofia Boutella), an ancient Egyptian princess who was buried alive for making a pact with the god Set to gain power.

Here are the Mummy Films in Order

The Universal Classic Monsters Movies (1932–1955)

The Mummy (1932)
The Mummy’s Hand (1940)
The Mummy’s Tomb (1942)
The Mummy’s Ghost (1944)
The Mummy’s Curse (1944)
Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy (1955)

Buy the Blu-rays on Amazon

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)

The Stephen Sommers’ Mummy series (1999–2008)

The Mummy (1999)
The Mummy Returns (2001)
The Mummy: The Animated Series (2001-2003)
The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008)

Buy the Blu-rays on Amazon

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)

The Scorpion King Spin-Offs

The Scorpion King (2002)
The Scorpion King 2: Rise of a Warrior (2008)*
The Scorpion King 3: Battle for Redemption (2012)*
The Scorpion King 4: Quest for Power (2015)*
The Scorpion King: Book of Souls (2018)*

*Those are direct-to-video sequels.

Buy the Blu-rays on Amazon

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)

The Dark Universe

The Mummy (2017)