The Ring Movies in Order

The “Ring” film series, also known as “Ringu” in Japanese, is a horror franchise based on the novel “Ring” by Koji Suzuki. The films center around a cursed videotape that leads to a series of terrifying events.

Directed by Hideo Nakata, “Ring” is the original Japanese film that introduces the cursed videotape. After watching the tape, viewers receive a phone call with a mysterious voice announcing that they have seven days left to live.

Investigative journalist Reiko Asakawa (Nanako Matsushima) is drawn into the mystery when her niece dies under mysterious circumstances. Asakawa discovers the cursed tape and begins a race against time to unravel its secrets.

Here are the Ring Movies in Order

Ringu (1998)
Rasen (1998)*
Ringu 2 (1999)
The Ring Virus (1999)
Ring 0: Birthday (2000)**
The Ring (2002)°
The Ring Two (2005)°
Sadako 3D (2012)***
Sadako 3D 2 (2013)
Sadako vs. Kayako (2016)°°
Rings (2017)°
Sadako (2019)****
Sadako DX (2022)*****

*That first sequel also known as The Spiral was an adaptation of the second book in Koji Suzuki’s Ring book series. What happened in the film was however ignored in the second sequel Ring 2.
**Ring 0: Birthday is a prequel to the series.
***The Sadako 3D movie is based on Suzuki’s book “S” and is a sequel to Rasen.
****Based on Koji Suzuki’s “Tide“, Sadako is considered a direct sequel to Ringu 2.
*****Sadako DX is a continuation of the Sadako 3D story.
°These are the American films of the Franchise, you can watch them separately from the Japanese ones.
°°This is a crossover with the Ju-on series (aka The Grudge).

Buy the Blu-rays on Amazon

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)