Vampire Diaries Books in Order, by L. J. Smith

A young adult paranormal romance book series written by L.J. Smith (Secret Circle), The Vampire Diaries primarily revolves around the lives of two teenage girls, Elena Gilbert and her doppelgänger, Katherine Pierce, in the fictional town of Mystic Falls.

The story begins with the return of Stefan Salvatore to Mystic Falls. Stefan, a vampire with a moral compass, becomes the object of affection for Elena. However, complications arise with the arrival of Stefan’s older and more malevolent vampire brother, Damon Salvatore.

The series explores the love triangle between Elena, Stefan, and Damon, as well as the supernatural conflicts and threats that plague Mystic Falls.

Here is the Vampire Diaries Series in Order

Matt and Elena: First Date
Matt and Elena: Tenth Date On Wickery Pond
The Awakening (1991)
After Hours
The Struggle (1991)
The Fury (1991)
Dark Reunion (1992)
Blood Will Tell
Elena’s Christmas
Nightfall (2009)*
Shadow Souls (2010)*
Dinner Disaster
Midnight (2011)*
Phantom (2011)**
Moonsong (2012)**
Destiny Rising (2012)**
Unseen (2013)***
Unspoken (2013)***
Unmasked (2012)***

The short stories are available on L. J. Smith’s website.
*Novels part of the Vampire Diaries: The Return series.
**Novels part of the Vampire Diaries: The Hunters series not written by L.J. Smith.
***Novels part of the Vampire Diaries: The Salvation Trilogy written by Aubrey Clark.

FYI, The Vampire Diaries: Stefan’s Diaries series is a prequel to the CW TV Show adaptation.

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)