Wayward Children Books in Order, by Seanan McGuire

Set at Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children, a boarding school for children who have returned from magical worlds and are struggling to readjust to the “real” world, this Fantasy series written by Seanan McGuire (October Daye) follows various characters who have experienced portal fantasies—journeys to otherworldly realms, such as Narnia-like lands or underworlds.

After their adventures, these children find themselves back in our world, often feeling out of place. At the school, they share their experiences and try to cope with the challenges of returning to a world that does not understand or accept the magical realities they’ve encountered.

Here is the Wayward Children Series in Order

Every Heart a Doorway (2016)
Down Among the Sticks and Bones (2017)
Beneath the Sugar Sky (2018)
In an Absent Dream (2019)
Juice Like Wounds” (2020)
Come Tumbling Down (2020)
Across the Green Grass Fields (2021)
Where the Drowned Girls Go (2022)
In Mercy, Rain” (2022)
Skeleton Song” (2022)
Lost in the Moment and Found (2023)
Mislaid in Parts Half-Known (2024)

Buy the books on Amazon | Buy the audiobooks on Audible

(Disclaimer: as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases)